The game is played with two teams consisting of fifteen players each. Each team can carry, pass or kick the ball to the end zone to score as many points as possible.

The team scoring the greater number of points is the winner of the match. The two teams compete for two forty-minute halves with a five-minute halftime.

Shortly after the 1924 games, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) dropped rugby union as an Olympic sport.

In October 2009 the IOC voted at its session in Copenhagen to include the sevens version of the sport in the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

Category 1
Compulsory Sports
  • Diving
  • Open Water Swimming
  • Swimming
  • Water Polo